FanDuel - WFBC

January 10, 2005

Stephen A. Smith = Football Expert: Did anyone see this on The Sports Reporters??

posted by dales15 to football at 10:08 PM - 17 comments

I'm laughing so hard my stomach hurts.

posted by jasonspaceman at 10:14 PM on January 10

I think the first comment (tokar) is probably the best part of the whole thing.

posted by dales15 at 10:45 PM on January 10

Hey Marty, guess what...

posted by roberts at 04:57 AM on January 11

That first comment is a gem. I also hate Stephen A. Smith, so it's doubly fun. Too bad I don't believe a word of it.

posted by blarp at 09:03 AM on January 11

I also hate Stephen A. Smith, so it's doubly fun. Too bad I don't believe a word of it. Oh, it's true.

posted by avogadro at 10:19 AM on January 11

Oh, Stephen. You'll never live this one down. Shows to go ya - The loudmouths eventually hang themselves.

posted by WeedyMcSmokey at 10:53 AM on January 11

HOWEVAH!!!! The rule as it pertained to the particular situation at hand and whatnot should exist! The fact that it does not is a TRAVESTY!

posted by pivo at 11:57 AM on January 11

the broadcast team mentioned this 3rd down kicking attempt, at the time, with the 4th down option re-do...not to say the broadcast team is up to snuff. Nor I, since I can't tell the what is sarcasm and what is straight in this thread.

posted by garfield at 12:04 PM on January 11

The broadcast teams always mention kicking on third down in clutch situations like that. However, the version I've heard through 20 years of watching the NFL is that they do it so that of the snap is bad, the holder can fall on the ball, take the loss and the kicker gets another shot. If he hadn't already, SAS has made a prize ASS of himself with this one.

posted by Mr Bismarck at 12:37 PM on January 11

However, the version I've heard through 20 years of watching the NFL is that they do it so that of the snap is bad, the holder can fall on the ball, take the loss and the kicker gets another shot. As long as the ball does not cross the line of scrimmage and the kicking team recovers the ball, they can re-kick with the snap taken from the dead ball spot.

posted by avogadro at 12:59 PM on January 11

is the that rule? so to come up with fanciful ways to not break the rule could the kicker launch one of the centre's ass, have it riccochet backwards, recover it and do a rekick on the next down? because it is not likely that the centre's ass is ahead of the line of scrimmage.

posted by gspm at 01:16 PM on January 11

Oh, it's beautiful that it's true. Thanks avogadro!

posted by blarp at 01:45 PM on January 11

gspm, I'd love to see a diagram of that play. Sounds like that would be quite legal, and so useful in so many different game situations, too! I'll check with Football Ubergenius Stephen A. Smith and get back to you.

posted by chicobangs at 04:01 PM on January 11

Mr. Smith is the same guy who declared the city of Philadelphia officially "in a state of panic" due to TO's injury. He rambled incessantly about the gloom and doom mood of the city and how this injury has ruined any chance the Eagles had of making the Super Bowl. Last I checked, his job was to talk about basketball not football.

posted by kl1369 at 09:18 PM on January 11

Stephen A Smith was also the guy who loudly (as if he knew any other way) proclaimed "Men's USA Baskebtall WILL bring home the Gold." He is a blowhard who has the journalism skills of a weasel and as evident by his 3rd down comment, knows nothing about football. Does anyone know if he's addressed this yet? How did he spin it? "I MEAN IF THEY BOTCHED THE SNAP! ALLEN IVERSON TOLD ME..."

posted by confoosious at 09:41 PM on January 11

I read today that ESPN2 is giving him his own show. At least they'll hide him on the deuce.

posted by usfbull at 10:02 PM on January 11

kl - you're not from Philly, are you? SAS may be a blowhard on TV, but he's not that far off on his assessment of Philly's non compos mentis.

posted by mbd1 at 09:20 AM on January 12

You're not logged in. Please log in or register.