Tiger Woods Assessed 2-Stroke Penalty for Illegal Drop: Tiger Woods turned himself in for an illegal drop after the second round of the Masters and has been assessed a two-stroke penalty. "At hole #15, I took a drop that I thought was correct and in accordance with the rules. I was unaware at that time I had violated any rules," Woods explained on Twitter. "Their initial determination was that there was no violation, but they had additional concerns based on my post-round interview. After discussing the situation with them this morning, I was assessed a two-shot penalty." Before a 2011 rule change, such a penalty would have resulted in his expulsion from the tournament for signing an incorrect scorecard. Woods falls to five strokes off the lead.