February 27, 2018

SportsFilter: The Tuesday Huddle:

A place to discuss the sports stories that aren't making news, share links that aren't quite front-page material, and diagram plays on your hand. Remember to count to five Mississippi before commenting in anger.

posted by huddle to general at 06:00 AM - 3 comments

Coach grabs microphone, tells crowd to "quit cussin'."

posted by rcade at 08:10 AM on February 27

Coach Tubbs in the late 80's grabbing the mike to scold the crowd:

"Regardless of how terrible the officiating is..."

posted by beaverboard at 09:08 AM on February 27

Updated Unofficial Men's International Ice Hockey Championship Title results

This is a pet project I created and update when changes require it. It tracks who would hold the "Championship Belt" after head-to-head matchups since the first IIHF champion was declared back in 1920. The title can only change hands if:

  • The teams face each other in a recognized international event (World Championship, World Cup, Canada Cup, Olympics) and also includes pre-tournament warm-up games with full rosters (that are recorded).
  • There is a winner in the game. Any games that end in a tie means the current title holder retains it.
  • Junior/Under-18 tournaments do not count. Only senior men's international tournaments.
  • Any tournament that involves non-national teams (Spengler Cup) does not count.
This Olympics saw the title pass from Sweden to Germany to Russia. This was the first time Germany has held the title under that name.

They country of WEST Germany held the title for 347 days after beating Finland in the 1985 IIHF World Championships in the consolation round, and then not losing it again until their first game in the 1986 IIHF World Championships against Canada.

My favourite part about tracking this information is that Italy has held the title at one time, Poland has held it TWO times, and France has held it THREE times.

The craziest time period was the 2014 IIHF World Championships as 6 different nations (Canada, France, Italy, Denmark, Finland, Russia) all held the title at one time during the tournament. The following year, the 2015 tournament also saw 6 different nations (USA, Russia, Belarus, Czech Republic, Finland, Canada) hold the title during the tournament.

posted by grum@work at 01:52 PM on February 27

You're not logged in. Please log in or register.