FanDuel - WFBC

May 28, 2012

Mistake Nearly Costs Zach Johnson Some Coin: A rules violation caught by a CBS Sports broadcaster cost Zach Johnson a two-stroke penalty on the 72nd hole of the Colonial Sunday. Johnson, who went on to win the event, re-marked his ball because it was in Jason Dufner's putting line. As Peter Kostis noticed, Johnson forgot to put it in the original position before finishing the hole. "The normal protocol is that when a player moves his coin, for the other player to ask if he replaced it. Jason Dufner did not do that," Kostis said. "I don't think wearing a media hat absolves you from your responsibility as far as the spirit of the competition." Johnson was told of the violation right before signing his card, avoiding a potential disqualification.

posted by rcade to golf at 02:20 PM - 3 comments

At least that one actually mildly qualifies as cheating, unlike a lot of golf's ticky-tack and/or antiquated rules.

posted by TheQatarian at 03:08 PM on May 28

If the broadcaster knew before he putted, was he obligated to tell Johnson then? If not, why would he feel the need to tell Johnson before he signed his card?

CBS gets the controversy to cover, but no real guilt for pointing it out.

That's pretty convenient...

posted by grum@work at 03:51 PM on May 28

If I'm not mistaken, Kostis did not inform Johnson ... Johnson was informed by an official. On several occasions viewers have contacted a club to report infractions they spotted on television (I believe should not be permitted), or club/tournament officials usually have telecasts on in various areas.

As an aside, Zach's been there before ... remember the 2010 PGA Championship he lost on a two-stroke grounding (silly rule) penalty on the 72nd hole?

posted by jjzucal at 04:30 PM on May 28

You're not logged in. Please log in or register.