FanDuel - WFBC

December 14, 2010

Bobby Ryan Scores Goal with Opponent's Stick: During Sunday's Anaheim-Minnesota game, Ducks forward Bobby Ryan scored a goal using the stick of Wild forward Mikko Koivu (video). "I looked down and saw my own stick," Ryan said. "I knew I wasn't holding it. I wasn't quite sure what to do."

posted by rcade to hockey at 01:59 PM - 6 comments

Wow, that's awesome! I'll be watching that clip for days, thanks rcade.

Is grabbing an opponent's stick out of his hands, like Koivu did, a penalty?

posted by Hugh Janus at 02:11 PM on December 14

I would think it's an interference call.

posted by NoMich at 02:40 PM on December 14

I was watching the game. The announcers were having fun with the whole situation and they replayed the stick grab a few times. They never replayed far enough back to show why Mikko Koivu lost his stick in the first place. I wonder if maybe Bobby Ryan knocked it out or pulled it out of his hands. That might explain why he grabbed Bobby's stick. It was just dumb luck that Bobby scored.

It's funny how karma works like that. The night before, Mikko scored a goal (video) when the goalie inadvertently passed him the puck in front of their goal . The next night someone scores a goal on his team using his stick.

posted by jjohn24680 at 03:11 PM on December 14

Awesome clip. That was a slick move by Koivu, I doubt Bobby Ryan ever saw it coming. That Ryan ended up scoring with Koivu's stick is icing on the cake.

posted by Ying Yang Mafia at 03:53 PM on December 14

I'm pretty sure that it's a two-stroke penalty, though.

posted by tahoemoj at 05:01 PM on December 14

Is grabbing an opponent's stick out of his hands, like Koivu did, a penalty?

That's probably the most obvious example of rule 54.2, "holding the stick".

posted by grum@work at 09:37 PM on December 14

You're not logged in. Please log in or register.